If Chick-fil-A were Catholic . . .

If Chick-fil-A were Catholic . . .

I love eating at Chick-fil-A. If you don’t live near one of the 2,000 Chick-fil-A locations, I am really sorry. There’s nothing quite like the CFA sandwich, or their waffle fries, or their amazing cookies. I live in the South, where most CFA’s are, and I still don’t think I live close enough to one. It’s like ten whole minutes away.

But Chick-fil-A has one major fault: it’s closed on Sundays. This is a really, really dirty trick to play. It’s such a dirty trick that the Internet (a/k/a Tim Hawkins) made a remarkably funny satirical song about it. Why is it a dirty trick? Because 75% of the time that I crave Chick-fil-A is on a Sunday, when I can’t have it. When nobody can have it. Your wife asks “what can we get for dinner?” and you think “Chick-fil-A!” and then immediately say “but it’s Sunday . . . ” It’s really upsetting.

Chick-fil-A closes on Sunday because the restaurant recognizes that the day is special, belonging  to God, and so that their employees can spend time with their families. Other chains do this too, like Hobby Lobby and Dirt Cheap. But I don’t care about those. My wife wants her crafts at Hobby Lobby and her deals at Dirt Cheap, but I just want my hand-breaded deep-fried all-white-meat chicken sandwich.

But if Chick-fil-A were run by Catholics, it might be open on Sundays. That would be amazing. Paragraph 2187 of the Catechism of the Catholic Church says “Sanctifying Sundays and holy days requires a common effort . . . Traditional activities (sport, restaurant, etc.) and social necessities (public services, etc.), require some people to work on Sundays, but everyone should still take care to set aside sufficient time for leisure.”

Restaurants stay open and athletes compete in order to enhance the enjoyment of the Lord’s Day, a day of rest, by others. And Chick-fil-A staying open on Sunday would seriously enhance my enjoyment of Sunday. I would never think “I want Chick-fil-A” on Sunday and then be without any hope of eating that wonderful fried goodness. And that’s a really good thing, because Sunday is not a day for being deprived. It’s a day for celebration.

Am I (bbbb <–that’s my 1-year-old’s contribution) kidding just a little bit? Am I twisting the Catechism out of context just this much to make my point? Is it really optional whether an establishment wants to be open Sunday and other Holy Days? Yes, Yes, and Yes.

If I’m being totally serious, I guess I’m glad that there’s a national chain willing to cut into their profits in order to point out to the wider culture that Sunday is special, Sunday is important, Sunday is for better things. But guys! Is it too much to ask for fried chicken? Doesn’t a feast of fried chicken signify that today is a Holy Day, a day set apart, the Eighth Day of Creation? Open on Sunday and feed my need, Chick-fil-A!

Leave a Reply

